Vermeulen Receives ASHP's Donald E. Francke Medal

Lee Vermeulen, B.S.Pharm., M.S., FCCP, FFIP, Director of the University of Kentucky Healthcare Office for Value and Innovation in Healthcare Delivery (OVIHD), is the recipient of ASHP’s 2016 Donald E. Francke Medal. Mr. Vermeulen received his award and presented his lecture on Monday, December 5, 2016, at ASHP’s 51st Midyear Clinical Meeting and Exhibition in Las Vegas.

ASHP established the Francke Medal to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to international pharmacy practice. Francke, a key leader of ASHP in its formative years, was noted for his longtime service to American and international pharmacy. He served as editor of the American Journal of Hospital Pharmacy for 22 years and was the first American Vice President of the International Pharmaceutical Federation’s (FIP’s) Section of Hospital Pharmacists.

Mr. Vermeulen has served in several leadership roles within the Hospital Pharmacy Section of the FIP and as a member of the FIP Board of Pharmaceutical Practice. He is actively involved in the FIP Pharmabridge program, which seeks to improve pharmacy services in low-income and emerging countries. He has also contributed to the work of several other international organizations, including the International Society of Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR), the International Society of Oncology Pharmacy Practitioners (ISOPP), and the European Association of Hospital Pharmacy (EAHP).