External Advisory Board


Tim Carey, MD, MPH
(Chair) Professor of Medicine, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Uma Kotagal

Uma Kotagal, MBBS, MSc
Senior Vice President for Safety, Quality and Transformation, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center


Jean Kutner

Jean Kutner, MD, MSPH
Gordon Meiklejohn Endowed Chair and Professor
Co-Director Palliative Care Research Cooperative (PCRC)
Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Chief Medical Officer, University of Colorado Hospital

Ann O'Brien

Ann O'Brien, RN
Director of Clinical Informatics, Kaiser-Permanente

C. Seth Landefeld

C. Seth Landefeld, MD
Chair, Department of Medicine, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Brian Mittman

Brian Mittman, PhD, MA
Consultant, Department of Research & Evaluation, Kaiser-Permanente
Senior Advisor, VA Center for Implementation Practice and Research Support
Consultant, UCLA Institute for Innovation in Health

Mary Naylor

Mary Naylor, PhD, RN
Professor in Gerontology, University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
Director of NewCourtland Center for Transitions and Health, University of Pennsylvania

Sanjay Saint

Sanjay Saint, MD, MPH
Professor of Medicine, University of Michigan Health Systems
Chief of Medicine, VA Ann Arbor Healthcare System